Travel Tray

scrap-tray-1

For a while now I have wanted to make some sort of tray that you could collapse when not in use and finally I have made one. I found a free pattern on Craftsy by Angie’s Bits and Pieces. This is a really basic pattern to make and it took about an hour from start to finish to do so super quick to make up.

scrap-tray-2

I’m going to be using this one as a money tray that will live in my sewing tote for when I go to Sewing Guild. I collect the member’s dues each month and I’m always searching for something to keep the money in so people have one spot to place it. This tray is perfect.

watermelon-leftovers

The fabric I used was the scraps I had leftover from making the Watermelon bags. I pieced them together to make them wide enough. My finished tray is a little narrower than the pattern, however the pattern can be made any size you want so you can go larger or smaller. Instead of batting I fused stabiliser to the back of the fabrics, because I want to carry money in it I wanted it to be a little more sturdy. I used of offcuts of pieces of stabiliser I had so it was good to use them up in a project.

I want to put snaps on everything after getting my snap press earlier this year. The snaps work well on this as they make it quick to undo and collapse down. You could also use Velcro or if you want to get more decorative use buttons. This tray would make a cute gift for anyone to use. I could see these in a little kids rooms filled with their treasures or filled with sweet treats on someone’s work desk.

I’m sure I’ll be making these again.

Cassiy

4 thoughts on “Travel Tray

I would love to hear from you please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.