Scrappy Scotty

scrappy-scotty

Sometimes a stitchery just says to you “Buy me, I will be useful in something you just don’t know what yet” and that was a case here. Jodie aka Ric Rac recently released a new stitchery Great Scott. The pattern steps you through how to make the piece into a babies rattle but you can use the design on anything. Here I have used it as the central panel on a toddler’s shoulder bag. I traced the design onto a piece of pink scrap fabric I found in my stash that was just the right size for the design. I framed it with some leftover fabric from my quillow debacle. The handle is another piece of fabric left over from the quillow. I haven’t done any hand satin stitching in sometime (2-3 years) but I somehow managed to do a resemble job on the eyes and nose.

scrappy-scotty-back

For the back I used more of the green fabric that I pieced to make it wide enough. I really like this fabric, it must be the green with pops of pink and white that just make it seem fresh and happy.

scrappy-scotty-inside

For the inside again I used quillow leftovers. From the quillow project I was left with a few long stripes of fabric. It was too much of it to just put in my daycare donation bag and since I liked the fabric I knew I would find a use for it so I kept on to it. This project was the perfect use for it.

This bag was super quick to make up. The stitchery only took me like a day to do in front of the tv. It is only back stitching so it is quick and simple. The piecing of the bag was very quick, it is just straight line stitching. You construct it together like any other tote bag except it just a little bit smaller than most. I love raiding my scrap stash finding fabrics I can use in a project. I’m a proud of a project like this where everything used is scraps. It makes you think and get creative. For a small project like this why cut up a big bit of fabric when you only need small amounts. I’m hoping little Miss 2.5 likes her new bag this Christmas.
Cassiy

Leave a Reply

