Owl To The Rescue

I have mentioned before I have an owl loving niece. I’m always looking out for new owl patterns so I can make her a different one each year. Sadly this year the pattern I chose wasn’t working for me so I put it in the naughty corner and this little guy came to the rescue.

I made this pattern  for this years Softies For Mirabel toy drive. The pattern is Simplicity 1549. I found this fabric in my stash and thought it was perfect. The fabric is very crisp so it holds its shape for the toy well. I really like how it is the same print but in the contrasting colours, the print isn’t too distracting either. Once again I added pellon to inside the wings as you don’t stuff them. For the face I thought she needed lips so I added pom-pom trim and for the eyes used flat front shank buttons.

Sewing wise this was a really easy toy to whip up as the pattern pieces are very simple. If anyone is after a really basic soft toy pattern this would be a great pattern to get started on as there not too many pieces or difficult construction. I am sure I will make this toy again.

Cassiy

Leave a Reply

