Keep It Simple

I need a bag at work to keep some supplies in so I can store them neatly in a cupboard and not have to carry them everywhere each day. No problem I can sew I’ll just whip up a bag that closes up and I can use it as a project bag after I finish needing it for work. Friday afternoon I came home, prepped some fabric, found a pattern I was going to have to modify but was still larger than I was wanting but would do the job. This morning I was ready to cut the fabric and thought STOP!!! Think about it can you use a different pattern or.. even use an existing bag to do the same job.

By chance I found this Bendigo Woollen Mills tote bag in my stash this morning which came as part of a kit I brought earlier this year. When I found it I thought ‘this sitting in bag in plastic is just a waste you should use it some time’  The sides expand so I thought I might even use it to form a pattern to make some reusable shopping bags which I am planning on making. When I went to cut my fabric I remembered this tote bag and thought it is a great size but it doesn’t stay closed.

Brainwave by adding a couple of kam snaps to the top of the bag instantly the bag had closures. In my stash I found some black snaps which matched the print on the front of the bag so you can’t tell that I added them myself (not that it matters) 5 minutes later I had a bag that would stay closed, would fit an A4 notebook in it plus a few other goodies (coffee cup, glasses, teabags) Next year when I don’t need it for work it will be a yarn bag again.

As crafters I think we tend to over think things sometimes and create more work for ourselves then we need to just because we have the skills to do so. If I had made the bag I originally had thought of doing it would’ve taken me hours, it would’ve been a good bag but there were other more simple solutions that I didn’t think of because my immediate first thought was make one. I never even considered modifying an existing bag. This is also a reason why it pays to know what you have and if you get something like a useful tote bag don’t stash it away use it or why bother getting it in the first place. At times we need to Keep It Simple and think outside the square for solutions. We are all time poor as crafters so why create more work for yourself when your time can be better spent on other projects.

Cassiy

2 thoughts on “Keep It Simple

Leave a Reply

