Quilts Of Hope 2017 Block

I have finished my block for this years Quilts of Hope and now just have to post it in. Craftalive are running a quilting challenge this year at all their events across the country. Participants receive a mystery brown bag containing 2 pre-cut 4″ squares of Ella Blue fabric . The challenge is to use at least 50% of the fabric in a quilt block and to consider the theme “Future Stars” when making your block. You could do the block any way you wanted as long as the finished size was 9.5″ square.

For my block I wanted a base to work within so I knew how much space I had to play with. I cut out a base with a mottled light teal coloured fabric that looks like sky, yes I know you can’t see stars during the day 😉  Around the base I did a border in star fabric. By chance the supplied fabrics fitted nicely on my sizzix cutting dies and I was able to use the a star cutting die to cut out multiple stars per square. I randomly placed them on my fabric and satin stitched around them. To get the stars for the embroidery designs I used Microsoft Word to draw up a variety of size stars. For basic shapes I still can’t go past the drawing function in Word. Using my light box and frixon pens I filled in the gaps with the various stars. The embroidery is basic backstitch which is my hand embroidery of choice. I matched the thread colour to the different coloured stripes on the fabric I used.

My inspiration for this block design was no matter the size the size or shape every star will shine bright in the future. These quilts blocks will be made into quilts for kids with cancer. I wanted a more sophisticated quilt block that could be used on a quilt for a teenage boy. It has a little texture to it with the appliqued stars and embroidery thread so if  you were having quiet time you can sit there and run your fingers over it and feel calm. I’d like to think that is what this quilt block will do for some child or family, give them something else to look at and explore and take their mind away from things even for just a minute.

Cassiy

Leave a Reply

