Blue Rose Skirt

swap-day-haul-6

Last year at the Spoolette swap day I picked up a piece of fabric that had blue roses on it. It was a polyester which I don’t normally like but because it combines my favourite colour with my favourite flower I was drawn to this piece.

butterick-5431

I decided to make a skirt with it to wear at an event in March. Because of the polyester fibre content I decided I wanted a lined skirt. I found the perfect simple pattern in my stash Butterick 5431 (again it came from the swap day) I wanted a simple pattern as I had never made a lined skirt before. I read all the instructions, laid out the pattern pieces to trace them out and couldn’t find my size. I then took a closer look on the outside of the pattern envelope and realised it wasn’t my size.

simplicity-2184

I went through my pattern stash again and found a similar skirt pattern Simplicity 2184 view B but it wasn’t lined (which is probably why I didn’t choose it in the first place) I used this pattern and instructions to make my skirt but added the lining in via the instructions from the Butterick pattern.

blue-rose-skirt-on

Confession I get confused with seam allowances and how much you need to add if you are going to overlock (serge) all your edges before doing your seams. The skirt is made up of 4 pieces cut on the bias. I have never cut a pattern on the bias before. I needed to added a little extra as my hip measurements were a bit bigger than the pattern. I added extra to both sides of each pattern piece but thinking about it afterwards perhaps I only needed to added extra to the centre seam sides, or do you add more to the sides and not the middle? The end result is that skirt is a little puffier than I wanted but it isn’t the end of the world.

blue-rose-skirt-lining

The lining is attached only at the waist band so it moves freely from the outer skirt underneath.  I used a black cotton voile. I made it a couple of inches shorter so it wouldn’t be seen.

Looking at my check list of things to consider when making clothing

  • Comfort Yes it isn’t tight and I have room to move
  • Classic Yes it is a bias cut A line skirt
  • Creative / Quirky Yes the rose print is very 3 dimensional
  • Natural Fibres Yes to some extent as I have used cotton voile as the lining

blue-rose-skirt

Originally I had made this skirt just to wear to Australian Sewing Guild’s 20th birthday lunch in March but have decided in the last couple of weeks I can also afford to go the Sydney Spoolette’s Frocktails event in February so this skirt is going to get 2 uses soon. I know it will be in my wardrobe for years and will get use whenever I need an item that is just that little bit special.

Cassiy

2 thoughts on “Blue Rose Skirt

  1. Enlarging a pattern confuses me too. I have found it depends on the amount you need to increase the pattern by. It also depends how much ease you need. I check the actual pattern and work out the finished garment measurement, which is different to the pattern envelope measurement. If you needed two inches (sorry, I am an old imperial girl) for example I sometimes find they have five inches ease so I don’t worry too much about enlarging the pattern. It depends on the style of the garment too. I suspect that this pattern had a lot of ease. I sometimes add say a quarter inch to each seam, if I need much more than that I use various techniques to add it in where I need it. A bit complicated to explain in this blog. Lovely fabric. Is there someone at your guild meetings who would fit your sewing for you. At Penrith we help each other out, well to be truthful mostly people help me!

    • I always talk in imperial too. Thanks for the tip about the ease, I must look at that next time. Yes we have many wonderful members in my group who are willing to help if I only ask. Often I forget to ask these questions when I’m at a meeting. I must plan ahead before a meeting and read any patterns I’m likely to make between meetings and write down questions I have (and write down the answers to refer back too)

Leave a Reply

