Spoolette Swap Day Nov 16

swap-day-haul-1

I said I was going to be good at the Sydney Spoolette Swap day and for the most part I was. I did take nearly 2 bags of stuff with me to destash but I may of come home with 2 bags of stuff.

swap-day-haul-2

The first item I picked up I’m going to use on a couple of gifts next year. I’m going to cut out the soccer balls and applique them onto something. Finding this fabric has saved me from having to hand embroider soccer balls.

swap-day-haul-7

The tan fabric is almost an upholstery fabric it has a little bit of stretch in it so I may be able to make a jacket from it. The dark brown fabric I’m thinking a winter skirt. I measured it up against myself and at worse I can get the A+ Skirt pattern made from it.

swap-day-haul-6

The blue roses is the most challenging fabric I picked up. It is a synthetic  but I think I can make a pencil skirt from it. I have a luncheon to go to next year so maybe I can make it to wear to that. Blue roses are my favourite flower so I was drawn to this as soon as a saw it. The pink fabric is like a stretch denim. I’m not normally into pinks but I do like this. Again maybe I can get a jacket from or at least a vest.

swap-day-haul-3

I picked up a few patterns. Yes more skirts. I don’t have these patterns I don’t think. The bag pattern I’m curious to try or at least read the instructions. These are brand new patterns so hopefully I’ll use them if not I’ll take them to the next destash.

A lot of the fabrics I picked up I can use on WIRES pouches. There are couple I will need to do the burn test on to see if they are 100% cotton but I’m pretty confident they are. I giggled when I found the fabric with the Australian wildlife on it, it is just perfect for WIRES pouches!

This was the first swap day I have been to after only discovering out about the Sydney Spoolettes earlier this year. It was a lot of fun. People brought an amazing amount of fabric, patterns and notions. It was a great way to pass on things you won’t use and to pick up new things. I’m now going to have a bag set up for swap day and if I come across things in my stash I don’t think I’m going to use I’ll put in the swap bag for the next swap. I think it is easier to pass on things if you know they are going to go to a good home. I don’t care if people took some of my stuff home decide it’s not for them and bring it to the next stash. Eventually someone will be able to use it.

Cassiy

Leave a Reply

