NSW ASG Simplicity Industry Day 16

Simplicity Factory
Yesterday was the NSW Australian Sewing Guild Industry Day at Simplicity Patterns. This was my second industry day at Simplicity and just like last year I had lots of fun.

simplicity-stash-16

An Industry Day is an event where members come together to hear talks from fellow members within the guild and different people within the sewing industry. A chance to share ideas and learn some new things. Simplicity Patterns kindly host the event for us and also give us the opportunity to do some shopping (they do some great specials for us) This year among the people who gave talks were Juliette from Gutermann who gave us a talk about needle and thread. I will never look at the humble little sewing needle the same way. I had never put much thought into the needle but her talk was interesting. Another person who spoke was Claudia from Eco Fabrics who spoke to us about natural fibres in particular bamboo. There was also the annual fashion parade were members took part in showing off items they have made, I would like to take part in this next year.

simplicity-stash-16-patterns

I did mention shopping… This year we were able to pre-order our patterns. Now that I am starting to make more clothing for myself I went through and made a wishlist. At $5 per pattern it was too good to pass up. I opted for more classic style patterns so that I make something I can wear it for years. A couple of patterns are for future toys. I also remembered I needed to make a Christmas gift for a 1yr old and managed to pick up a pattern.

simplicity-fabric-guide

I purchased the fabric book as I need to learn more about different fabrics. I understand quilting cotton but I have no clue about other fabrics. I want to start sewing with more fabrics but I don’t know anything about them.

simplicity-stash-16-trims
Once again we were able to buy rolls of trims for $5 per roll. This year I looked for things I knew I would use regularly like webbing which is good for bag handles. I did pick a couple of cotton lace trims as it is hard to find cotton lace. I found some black velvet trim too which I thought might come in handy to jazz up skirts or even make some kids hair bows. The chevron trim I must admit I got due to the colours. I love all those colours.

simplicity-stash-16-red-trim

My favourite trim is the red pom pom. As soon as I saw it I immediately thought mouths for soft toys. I can’t wait to use it. Also it makes great eyebrows.

simplicity-stash-16-tapes
Another great special I found was rolls of tape. I got all these for the grand sum of 5 for $2. I couldn’t believe it. I found a heap of twill tape in different colours. I will use it to stabilize the shoulder seams in some knit tops I wish to make.

simplicity-industry-day-fabric-shopping

The white fabric came from the Eco Fabrics shop that was set up. It is a bamboo cotton fleece mix. It feels so soft. I’m not a white person as I have darker skin but this white isn’t transparent so I’m thinking I may get a top out of it. The blue piece of fabric I brought due the colour. It was from a table set up where members could sell fabric from their stash.There is over 2m of it. I wasn’t sure what I would do with it but another member suggested a skirt so that convinced me I needed to get it. Maybe a maxi skirt.. I’m not sure yet. I was good I did see another piece the same colour but in a different fabric, I had the idea to make a cape out of it but when I opened the piece up I saw there wouldn’t be enough to make the cape so I left that piece behind. Yes I can say no to blue things  🙂 I had my practical head on yesterday and was only trying to get items I would use.

Once again I had a great day. The members of the sewing guild and the amazing people at Simplicity do a great job running the event. Now to get sewing so I can show off my pieces next year.

Cassiy

Leave a Reply

