Overlocking Your Edges Pre-Wash

So in the great debate to pre-wash fabric or not I fall on the pre-washing side of the fence. I also soak in hot water then wash on a normal cycle. One downfall to pre-washing is that your fabrics tend to become a bird’s nest in the machine as they tangle about and all the cut ends shred. Recently I heard about a simple tip to avoid this…. Overlock (serge) your edges before pre-washing! Of course what a simple idea.

Overlocking Pre-Wash

Last week I purchased some new fabric (for a project I’m making and yes I did need it as I didn’t have this fabric in my stash) I decided to try the overlocking idea out. The fabrics were denim and polar fleece. I ran the 2 cut ends of each piece through the overlocker which only took a couple of minutes to do. I then soaked the two together in the washing machine and later washed as normal.

Overlocking Post-Wash

The denim came out crinkled like it usually does but it wasn’t twisted in a heap like normal. I didn’t have to rip apart spiders webs just to stretch it out for the line. The fleece was fantastic. Previously if I washed anything with cut polar fleece I would find fleece fur balls all over it but this time there was nothing. Also my carpet would be covered in fur balls too but not this time.

So I can say after testing this idea out of overlocking the edges before pre-washing it is absolutely worth doing. It does take a couple of minutes to do but the end result is worth it. I also tried the idea out on a fat quarter and again it was great with no twists and tangles when I took it from the machine. This is going to be my way of doing things now. Also it is great incentive to clear the top of my overlocker cabinet now as I will be able to use that straight away instead of carrying my overlocker to my cutting table each time.

Leave a Reply

