Overlocker Rolled Hem

I love using my overlocker (serger) even though it at first scared me (sharp blade that eats away fabric, stitches very fast) Now I use it all the time when making clothing and WIRES pouches.  I have learnt you control the speed you stitch at by how hard you press your foot down and that the trimming away of fabric is a good thing. One thing I had never tried before on it was doing a rolled hem. I have a Janome MyLock 664D, when I brought it I had no idea of what features I needed in an overlocker as I had only previously used one once briefly. The 664D is meant to be easy to switch from doing a regular overlock stitch to a rolled hem so that is one of reasons I brought it (even though I didn’t know how many rolled hems I’d be doing)

I thought it was about time I gave the rolled hem feature a try. When I first read my manual on how to set it to rolled hem I got a little confused. I’m more of a visual person and find it easier to learn when I watch things (I am very thankful I’m learning to sew in the days of YouTube) I was going to wait until I went to a Sewing Guild meeting until I found this clip on YouTube which really gave me the confidence to try it at home.

The clip really shows you up close how to set the machine. It didn’t tell me however that when you take the needle out you will need to cut it away from your thread chain. I found this clip a couple of months ago and saved it in Pinterest for future reference. I watched it again as a refresher than headed to my machine. I had my tablet next time my machine and could stop the clip after each step and give it a try. One thing I did do was take a photo of my tension settings before I changed them to the rolled hem settings.

Serger Rolled Hem 1st Attempt

For some reason in my mind I was expecting it to look completely different. I must go back and read the many overlocker books I have as I had it in my mind it was going to have a large folded hem. Never mind, I am really impressed with the stitch that it did do. The hem on it is so tiny and neat. On some projects this would be perfect. I can see myself using this feature now that I know how to set it on the machine.

Cassiy

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

