Embroidery Play

Over the last week or so I joined a closed Facebook group with fellow embroidery machine users.

Embroidery Machine Play Teddy

They set a little challenge of “stitch up one of the inbuilt designs on your machine” I thought yep I’ve never stitched an image before but I can do that. The one I chose was this little bear design (Hoop ST Design 12) I will be honest the bobbin tension was wrong I realised this after I started that I should’ve set the bobbin dial on 2. I changed it half way but she has come out more white than she should be. I also don’t think I hooped the fabric tight enough. She is still cute.

Embroidery Machine Play

I decided to try out a few more designs. These are all done using the ST hoop. The duck (Design 17) was the second one I stitched up. I hooped the fabric better and my tension was set correctly. The bunny (Design 13) I used pink threads and purple instead of the blues as I don’t have those colours. He is the biggest image I’ve stitched. I had a few broken threads on this one and had to re-thread the machine a couple of times but I think I’d forgotten to put the spool cap on the thread so that may have been the reason. The lady bug (Design 14) I didn’t have red so she became a pink bug instead. I keep thinking the movie Greece and the ‘Pink Ladies’ The numbers and letters are from the lettering section. I did them in Gothic font on large.

These took me a couple of hours to do. Some took as long as nearly 30 mins to stitch up others took only 5. It has given me confidence to play around with my machine. My next step will be to import a design into the machine. I’m wanting to use the embroidery side of the machine more this year to make Christmas gifts. This little challenge gave me a no stress chance to play with the machine without the pressure of I’ve got to get these Christmas gifts done now. I got to see what colour threads I had and what I need to buy. I got to play around with substituting colours on designs. It was a good challenge.

6 thoughts on “Embroidery Play

  1. Dear Stitch n Sew Creates. I really enjoyed this blog regarding the machine embroidery as I myself have just purchased a Embroidery Machine only and am still playing around with the designs. Its a fabulous way to spend a few hrs. Just a tip the lady told me where I purchased my machine that you dont necessarily have to use Embroidery threads and I myself took her advice and my embroideries have turned out beautifully and it gives you a much wider range of colours that you already have in your stash. I have been using the Birch threads purchased at Spotlight and they work perfectly. Hope you find this tip helpful. Stella

Leave a Reply

