M.I.C – Missing In Crafting

Knitting Colour Play

In recent times you may of noticed I’ve been a little absent from here. I had a family member take ill and life has been work, hospital, sleep repeat. I haven’t been on my sewing machine in over 5 weeks and I’m behind on my gifts for the year but that’s ok I will catch up on things. It has been pretty stressful but my crafting in one form or another got me through it. I’m the kind of person who ensures they have their knitting in their bag as they call for an ambulance. I can’t keep still and in hospitals you spend a lot of time sitting around waiting.

Bed Side Beanie

I did a lot of knitting. I tried making a scarf but the yarn was poor quality and kept splitting I think I got it from an op shop and it was old. In the end I binned the scarf as I had to keep tying off the ends where it split. I had more knots than rows. I picked up the Art of Knitting series as it had free yarn and needles with it and played around with the colours. I had fun doing that. In the end I pulled the piece apart and used the yarn to make another beanie. I completed it at the bedside, all I have to do now is weave in the ends and seam it up. I’m pretty happy with it as its the first time I’ve done triple stripes. I then started another beanie which got half completed. I wanted things I could do mindlessly and my favourite beanie pattern certainly fits the criteria. I don’t even have to look at my needles.

A Life In Stitches

A lovely friend gave me a book which I read within a week. I also read all my craft mags that I get in the mail each month. It made me realise out of the craft mags I get which ones I really enjoy and which I just read cause I subscribe. I think there may be some which after my current subscription runs I out I don’t renew. Some mags I find I get more ideas from than others.

Retail Therapy

The times I was at home I did do a bit of retail therapy and ordered some patterns. I have some of my Christmas gifts sorted now I just have to get in and stitch them. I did get some hand sewing done and knitted a dishcloth but mostly when I was home I was mentally zapped that I couldn’t craft.

I’m hoping life will get back to normal now. Craft is calling me…

4 thoughts on “M.I.C – Missing In Crafting

  1. I’ve been in the same situation this week. Yarn is now always in my bag as I head to the hospital. Crafting really does help get you through it. I hope your family member is improving and will keep you and your family in my prayers.

  2. Sorry to hear you have been having such a trying time but glad to hear things are on the improve now. Craft is always a comfort when worries are on your mind but it certainly fills in the time and helps you get through. xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

