Sydney Craft and Quilt Fair 2015

SCSJun 15 Entrance
Yesterday I went to the big Sydney Craft and Quilt fair that is held every June.

SCSJun 15 Goodies

As always craft fairs equal shopping. I got some items that were on my list including some binding to match a project I’m working on and an extendable magnet to pick up pins from the ground. Each year I buy something that the ladies from the Quilters Guild make to raise funds for their guild, this year I got a couple of thread catches cause you never have to many of them (I just have to remember to use them) I also purchased an adjustable sewing bed extension table but I haven’t had a chance to try that out yet. Just as I was leaving I got some craft books which weren’t on my list but craft books are my weakness. Another new thing I got which I can’t wait to try is little torches that slip over your thumb so when you’re doing hand embroidery your stitch area is illuminated. This year I didn’t do any workshops or listen to any talks. I wasn’t even sure if I was going to even make the event or how long I could stay at it so I didn’t want to commit to anything.

The June craft show in really good to go to as it has all the quilts on display. Unfortunately I couldn’t take photos of them as you need to have the owners permission. Now that I have done a bit more quilting than I had before it was interesting seeing them and trying to work out how they did it. I’m in awe of people who can do any size quilt. I struggle with a mug rug and that is tiny.

 

SCSJun 15 Emergency

After the show I stayed the night at Star City like I’ve done in previous years. I however didn’t pack any craft for me to do at the hotel. Normally I do a class or something so I have something to work on afterwards. If I go away for a couple of days I automatically pack something. At the show when I realised this I started to get really anxious as I need to do something to keep myself occupied. All I had on me was a pair of embroidery scissors in my wallet. I walked around the different stalls trying to find a project I could start immediately that didn’t involve any prep work and used limited tools. I decided on sashiko. I brought a panel and a skein of thread and the lovely girl gave me a free needle as she could see how desperate I was. Lesson learnt at least throw in a pair of knitting needles and a ball of yarn into your overnight suitcase. I actually got a lot done on the panel during my stay.

I enjoyed my day at the show. Maybe next year I can do a class or maybe even volunteer at the Knitters Guild display stall.

 

4 thoughts on “Sydney Craft and Quilt Fair 2015

  1. Glad you enjoyed yourself. I always keep a little pouch with some hexagons and a small sewing kit in my handbag. You never know when you’ll be kept waiting and get bored very easily xx

    • Gina that is a really good idea. Normally I do have something with me but not this time. You hit the nail on the head I get board very easily. I’m not a person who can just sit idle. I want to start a hexie project….

  2. Love your little haul of goodies! The Craft Fair was here in Perth the other week – but I wasn’t able to make it unfortunately 😦 Im hoping to be able to make it next year!

    • Oh no! Fingers crossed you can make next years event. It really is a good day out. In previous years I’ve done a lot of classes and workshops at it and they are great.

Leave a Reply

