Sugar Plum Fairy

Introducing Miss Sugar Plum Fairy

SPF

 

She is by an Australian softie designer Pauline McArthur from Funky Friends Factory that I found out about earlier this year. She is essentially a simple cloth doll but looks so jazzy in her funky tutu and wings.

SPF Face

Her hair is done with wool felt. I love her pigtails. I did her facial features by hand. They turned out really well and may be my best yet. Ignore the her bushy eyebrow and small mark on her forehead. I had an incident when turning her out and had to darn a small patch on her forehead which I’m calling it her birthmark.

SPF Wings

Her wings are the reason I had to learn buttonholes. They are attached to her back with a single button. If I make her again I might try and do free motion quilting on the wings instead of using the walking foot. For a first attempt at wings I’m happy with the result.

The original pattern has her in a Christmas print fabric on her torso. In my stash I found a tulip print fabric which works well and means she can be used any time of the year. I think of her as funky ballerina. I even remembered to use trims and have ribbons on her shoes. I did have to buy the wool felt and netting but all other fabric and supplies came from within my stash.

I’ve purchased a number of Pauline’s patterns so you will be seeing more of them in the future.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Plum Fairy

Leave a Reply

