ASG May Photo A Day Challenge Week 1

May is Sewing Month and the Waverley Group from the Australian Sewing Guild (ASG) is holding an Instagram photo a day challenge. Each day there is a theme and you photograph what that means to you. It sounded like a fun thing to be involved with so I took up the challenge. I thought each week I would share them on here too.

Day 1 – May sewing plans

Day 1

My May sewing includes a few softies that need to be made (I’m a little behind on my gift making this year) plus a couple of craft swap items that need to be finished by the end of the month

Day 2 – Most colourful piece of fabric

Day 2

This fabric is by Melly and Me when I saw it I just had to have it in my stash. I’m not too sure yet what I will make with it. It looks so bright a cheerful.

Day 3 – Buttons

Day 3

These are very special buttons. They are from mum’s pyjamas when I pulled them apart to keep the fabric. I’ve used a couple in different projects so far. Not entirely sure what I will do with the rest of them. I did hear about a person who makes sentimental jewellery out of buttons so I will keep that in mind.

Day 4 – Most sewn patterns

Day 4

Without doubt the most sewn pattern of mine is WIRES pouches. I don’t know how many I’ve made in the last few years. I usually make a batch of 30-50 several times and year and post them in. I’ve also sent pouches interstate to other animal organisations in times of bushfires.

Day 5 – Favourite sewing tool

Day 5

Until I had to take a photo I’d never really thought of my favourite sewing tool. I thought about the tools I use most often and realised my rotary cutter and my rule steady get used on every project. Even if I’m making a soft toy I first use them to cut a panel of fabric from the main piece so not to waste any. This is my second rule steady, when my first one broke I was lost until I could order another one. You place it on your cutting ruler to hold the fabric still whilst you cut. It makes it so much easier.

Day 6 – Quickest make

Day 6

The quickest item I can whip are burp cloths which I give in new born gifts. They are so simple to make yet very practical I’m told by parents. All you need is a bit of cotton fabric and some towelling, it is literally sewing 2 rectangles that are stitched than turned right side out and topstitched around the edge.

Day 7 – Your sewing space

Day 7

My sewing machine lives in the lounge room. I’m lucky enough not to have to put it away each time. As much as I try I’m not a tidy person. I get lost in what craft I’m doing and don’t have time for things such as housework and cleaning. Its messy but its a good creative mess.

I’m enjoying this challenge. It’s getting me to think back to sewing which I love doing but sometimes get side tracked from.

Leave a Reply

