Animal Lovers Mug Rugs

Now that my friend has received her birthday gift I can reveal what I made her. I created 2 mug rugs with an animal theme.

Animal Lovers Mug Rug Dog

I found the pattern “My Dog Owns My Heart” in Home Sewn Gifts magazine. The design was for a mini quilt but I decided to just use the phrase and make it into a mug rug. I free hand wrote the words on with a frixon pen and drew a basic dog bone shape. I embroidered over the top with back stitch before ironing away any ink marks. The quilting lines are simple but really create interest in another wise plain area. They are in a purple colour that isn’t showing up well in the photo.

Animal Lovers Mug Rug Dog 2

On the back I used a dog themed fabric. I really like how the quilting lines add interest to the back without taking anything away from the fabric. I attempted to make continuous bias binding but something went a little wrong (I think I rushed it) so the binding is a bit rustic. I need to work on my binding more.

 

Animal Lovers Mug Rug Cat

Using the same theme I decided to make a cat one too. I did it in the exact same way this time drew a paw. For the binding on this one I just simply double folded the backing fabric over to create the border / edge. The quilting is very simple. I quilted both these the weekend after I did the Deborah Louie class so it was great to put the skills I learnt into place. I really like the drag and drop technique to jump over an area.

Animal Lovers Mug Rug Cat 2
This photo was taken before I did finished the binding. These were the projects I was working on at the Sew-a-thon.  I used the same purple thread as the dog one. Again I like the back of this one as the lines add a slight bit of interest but blend in the with the design.

All fabrics used in these 2 mug rugs came from my stash. I raided my stash looking for fabric and found 2 fat quarters which were perfect. The white calico I have a heap of and is coming in handy in many projects. I like keeping with Sew My Stash theme this year. I’ll be honest I am adding to my stash at times but where at all possible I’m trying to use more stash than I add to it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

