2 Zip Hipster

2ZH
My friend needs a bag for a music festival and Leasa is running a Sew My Stash Bag Making Challenge so now was the perfect time to make it.

2ZH Front Pockets

In February I found the perfect pattern the 2 Zip Hipster by Erin from Dog Under My Desk (DUMD) The bag looks complicated to make but when you follow the step by step instructions (with photos) it is actually very easy. I took my time with this and it all worked out. There was a lot of firsts for me in making this. I’d never shortened a zipper before (but it was easy thanks to the instructions), I’d never stitched in bag hardware before, I’d never adjusted the needle position on my machine before but I did so I could get neat top stitching and I’d never done so much top stitching before. The outside of the bag has 2 pockets which are both lined so plenty of storage.

2ZH Lining

The inside of the bag is fully lined with a pocket on the side and a zipped top. It is very roomy so you can easily fit all the items you’d need for a day out. It also has an adjustable strap which is lined with Pellon so it doesn’t dig into the shoulders. I brought this blue fabric earlier in the year once I’d gotten the pattern. It is poly cotton which I don’t normally use but I wanted this colour. It was a bit more slippery than I’m used too and I was worried I’d burn it with the iron when I was pressing it. The lining fabric I’ve had in my stash for many many years. My friend loves her music so it was it was an obvious choice for her bag. I like bags which are lined with a light coloured fabric that way you find things inside them easier.

I can’t speak highly enough of this pattern. This is by far the most detailed thing I’ve ever made but it was so easy due the pattern instructions and photos. I strongly suggest if you buy the pattern you do print it in colour. Erin has a series of bag patterns, I now have a few on my wish list. There is DUMD Facebook group you can join where you can interact with other DUMD fans. It’s a great place to ask for advice or just to show of your creations. It is inspiring to see the bags people have made. I’m sure you will be seeing this 2 Zip Hipster again as now I have to make myself one (or 2 or 3)

2 thoughts on “2 Zip Hipster

Leave a Reply

