Light Box

Craft Light Box

When I first started to get into sewing a few years ago I kept reading about Light Boxes in the different craft mags. A light box allows you to trace designs onto fabric by illuminating from behind the design so you can see it through the fabric. Given they are on the expensive side I wasn’t sure how much I would use it so was hesitant to get one. At my local newsagent I stumbled across this light box for $25 so I decided to give it a try. From the moment I first used it I loved it. I trace all my stitcheries with it and even some patterns. Its great for tracing applique shapes directly onto fabric or visofix. I’m lost without it if I have to trace things at craft events. I know a simple method to trace through fabric is to hold it up against a window but I don’t trust how clean my windows are (I don’t want to dirty my nice clean fabric) plus often when I craft the sun isn’t up.

I’ve had this light box now for about 3 years or so. This one is actually designed to be used as a display board for advertising but it has gotten me through everything I need to do. When this one eventually dies I’ll get an actual craft one which is a little bigger. I know I’m going to use it now so it won’t be wasted craft money.

Leave a Reply

