Friendship Mug Rug

I finished this back in January but I had to wait until it was given as a gift so I could share it.

Friendship Mug Rug Front

This stitchery design I used was a block from ‘Sew and Sew’ by Lyn Briggs in Country Threads Vol 15 No 7. I didn’t use the full design of the stitchery only selecting parts of it. In my scrap stash I found the purple rectangles and pieced them to fit the size of the stitchery.

Friendship Mug Rug Back

On the back I found my strips from my stash and pieced them to fit. The binding is yet another scrap strip. The quilting on this was my first attempt at ditch quilting. For a first attempt I was really pleased with it. It’s not a fancy quilted mug rug but I got to try something new, really practice my quilting and make a practical gift at the same time.

Leave a Reply

