5000 Poppies – My Contribution

If your in Australia or New Zealand you may of heard about the 5000 Poppies project. For those unaware of it the project started in Australia in the aim to make poppies to be planted (placed) in Federation Square, Melbourne on Anzac Day 2015 to commemorate 100 years of service by Australian servicemen and women who have served our country in both war and peacetime. The call went out for individuals around the country to contribute by making a poppy. A similar project is also running in New Zealand.

Poppies

As soon as I heard about the project I knew I wanted to be involved. As a knitter it was just the thing for me. There are various patterns you can follow. I had intentions of making heaps but have decided if I can send 2 really nice poppies in I’d be proud to have contributed to the project. 2 is my favourite number and therefore that makes it a little more special for me. When I see the display on the tv which will be amazing I can know that amongst them are 2 little poppies that came out of my heart with respect and gratefulness.

Leave a Reply

