Smarter Sewing

Smarter Sewing

I’ve made another batch of WIRES pouches but this time I decided to re-look at the process I have of making them and do things a little smarter. So what did I do differently this time?

  • I started with cutting multiple layers at once when I was cutting them out. This cut the time down by half.
  • I used my overlocker (serger) to stitch the seams and finish the raw edges at the same time.
  • I left a long length of serger tail at the end of each seam to weave in to keep the seams secure. It took hardly any time at all in in front of the tv weaving the ends in
  • I used a triple stitch on the folded top hem that was more secure.

These little processes cut down the time it took to make the pouches and made it even easier to make up a bulk batch. I have learnt all these sewing skills so it was a matter of using the most appropriate sewing skill at the right time. It was worth stopping and taking a few minutes to work out smarter sewing processes.

Leave a Reply

