Doll Quilt From Scraps

On my Christmas gift list is to make a doll blanket to go with one of the toys. Previously I’ve always crochet my doll blankets but this year as I have a number of crochet and knitting items on my list I decided to make it out of fabric instead and in the process use up some of my fabric scraps.

Doll Quilt Front

The front is just strip pieces I found in my stash. I decided to keep it in green tones. As there was yellow in the sunflowers I decided to include the tractor strip with the yellow background as I thought this would be a good chance to use it without the need to cut it up further and lose any of the print.

Doll Quilt Back

It feels like a quilt as in the centre I have a piece of polar fleece scrap that I found amongst my fabric off cuts. The backing piece is from my stash of mum’s old pj’s. It is cotton and has a slight mint green tone to it.

So at the moment this will be used as a doll quilt or blanket but since it is so simple it can be later used as a table runner or shelf liner. There is the ability for it to grow with the child.

Leave a Reply

