Shower Mitt

When I first saw this shower mitt that Mel from One Crafty Mumma had done I thought one day I’ll make one. When Mel kindly did a tutorial on it and I saw how simple it was too make not only did I Pin it but I grabbed a crochet hook and a ball of yarn and got started on it straight away.

Cotton Shower Mitt

 

I’ve never crocheted in a circular way before so it was an interesting skill to try. It was easier than I expected it to be (I’m still used to crocheting in rectangles) I didn’t put stitch markers in like Mel suggested but I don’t think that made much of a difference. I kept mine simple and only used one colour in 8 ply cotton. Next time I might try using the stitch markers. At first I wasn’t sure if it was working but after a few rounds it starts to take the form of the shape.

To do the loop I like mine a little different to Mel’s so there would be less ends to weave in. She did her loop separate and joined it on. I ended the mitt by doing a slip stitch into the side of the mitt and tied off the stitch but didn’t cut the yarn. I did this so in case the loop didn’t work I’d know where my starting point was and all my hard work wouldn’t unravel. I chained 30 like Mel did then did another slip stitch into the side of the mitt where I first started my chains (or there abouts) I then did a slip stitch into each of the 30 chains ending with a slip stitch into the side of the mitt. I then cut the yarn and weaved the end in and also the tail end I left where I started the mitt in the first place.

This was so easy that I will be making it again and again. My mind is ticking with the types of yarn or size yarn you could use (craft brain is in overload) As Mel points out you don’t just have to use this for the shower you could use it for any item you wanted to clean. Mel didn’t write the original pattern but recreated it from one she received. Still thank you Mel for taking the time to work out the pattern and sharing it and to the person who sent it to Mel I thank you for inspiring her with such a great little item.

2 thoughts on “Shower Mitt

Leave a Reply

