Samplier Tote

I’m the proud owner of a new sewing machine, a Janome Memory Craft 11000. As a simple first project on it I decided to make a tote bag.

Samplier Tote 1

I cut out 2 rectangles of fabric and ironed a stabilizer onto the back of one piece. On this piece I pinned roughly where the bag would be folded so I knew which way the sides would face when finished. I did the same stitch at both the ends and bottom fold on each side of the bag. From there I was able to get an idea of the area I had to fill with stitches. I didn’t mark out any lines just eyeballed where to sew. I then experimented with the different machines stitches. This bag will be given as a gift for a 6 year old so I used some of the fun pictures stitches like elephants and cats as well as a variety of other stitches. With over 300 stitches on the machine I had plenty to choose from. The handles have the same flower stitch on both them.

To stitch up I sandwiched the handles between the stitched piece and the other rectangle. I stitched around the outside backstitching over each handle for extra security. I then turned the piece right side out through a turning gap on the side. I slipped stitched the gap closed then folded the bag in half with the embroidered sides facing. I did 2 rows of straight stitch up each side before turning bag correct side out.

Samplier Tote 2

I almost want to keep this bag for myself. Its turned out really cute. I was surprised at how well I eyeballed the stitching lines. Most are spot on. I’m going to try this idea again some time. It was a great way to experiment with all the different machine stitches. I wanted to play with the new machine but actually make an item at the same time.

7 thoughts on “Samplier Tote

Leave a Reply

