Winter Secrets – Hearts Entwined

Flicking through the latest issue of Australian Patchwork and Quilting magazine (Vol 23 No 8) a project really jumped out at me. Winter Secrets by Cinzia White. Its a table centrepiece / runner that is a giant hexagon. It is made up of 7 blocks. Each block is hexagon stitchery containing 7 hexagon designs. Its all just straight shapes and lines. It looks amazing. I’m a very geometric person and I love hexagons so that’s why I think I was drawn to it immediately. I’ve decided to make it but in true style I’m adding my own twist to it.

Winter Secrets

This first block is called Hearts Entwinded. I’m only tracing one block out at a time.

Drawing Original

In Cinzia’s design on each block the 7 mini hexagon designs are each a different colour. I’ve decided to do the entire stitchery in one colour. I brought a heap of embroidery threads a few weeks ago and I hope I have enough for the entire project or I’ll be hunting down that colour towards the end. It looks great multi-coloured but in my mind I can picture it in one colour. Also I’m not tracing out all the blocks by hand I’m going to use the drawing feature on my ScanNCut machine.

Drawing Attempt 2

This is going to be a looong term project for me. I’m going to work on it when I can but I’m not pushing myself to finish it. I will finish it no matter how long it takes. All other projects will take precedent but when I just want to pick up something and do a couple of minutes of back stitching I’ve got something already to go. Every stitch counts. Every stitch is relaxing. I don’t do a lot of projects for me but this, this is mine.

Leave a Reply

