Fabric Needlecraft and More

Last Sunday I took a trip out to Fabric Needlecraft and More. In my opinion this place is the best kept craft secret in Sydney. It was previously known as the Fabric Cave. If you have never heard of it its basically like an op shop or second hand shop of craft supplies. All money raised goes to Achieve Australia which is charity supporting people with disabilities. The shop last year moved premises and is now located at 112 Bowden St Meadowbank. It has been operating in the Meadowbank area for nearly 20 years. Unfortunately I’ve only known about it for about the last couple of years otherwise I would’ve been a regular there for years.

Fabric Cave 6th April

All items are donated. Your free to drop off donations when you visit too. It is crafters dream you will find buttons, fabric, magazines, books, elastic, trims, patterns, wool, cottons, knitting needles, wadding. Its always a mystery to what will be there. On this trip I even saw a Spinners Wheel. Sometimes I go with a shopping list of supplies I need if they have them other times I just go and pick up whatever jumps out at me. They were having a 50% fabric sale so I picked up some fabric and elastic for a skirt that is on my todo list. I got some thread all the in the same colour for a stitchery. I found some cute fabric that will be perfect in some baby blocks I’m starting soon. The last thing I got was a quilters pencil eraser which will always come in handy. Normally I take items to donate but as I hadn’t been to the new premises before and knew they would be busy with the sale I’ll take them in next time. The shop is only open Monday, Wednesdays and Fridays 9am – 2pm and the 1st Sunday each month 9am-12pm. If you ever get the chance to go I urge you to go knew know what bargains you will find.

3 thoughts on “Fabric Needlecraft and More

    • It is an amazing place. Its wonderful to see all the items in one place and for the money to go to a worthy cause. The volunteer’s are amazing as they are all crafty folk with a well of knowledge and passion.

Leave a Reply

