Sashiko Project Stage 1

As I mentioned in my last post I brought a Sashiko piece at the craft show. I couldn’t wait to start it in fact I started it the very night I got home. Before the show I went on the website of the shop that would be at the show and saw the Double Persimmon I really liked it however my first thought was it looks really hard and complicated I don’t how I’ll do it as there is a lot of lines going everywhere. From what my understanding of Sashiko is that its basic running stitch not angular embroidery shapes like this piece has with all line connected together. However when I got to the show and spoke to the stall holder I learnt the secret to this piece. Its done in all straight lines.

Sashiko Boarder

As this piece is on white fabric its suggested that you stitch through a double layer of fabric so that your stitches don’t show through on the back. The panel is sold with enough fabric for you to fold it in half and have a double thickness. You can machine stitch the pieces together like I did and get a side seam that is hidden or you can just have raw edges on one side.

Sashiko Pattern

This project has at least 3 if not 4 stages. Stage 1 is to stitch around the outside which I’ve started in these photos but by now have actually finished. Stage 2 will be to stich all the horizontal lines. Stage 3 will be stitch all the vertical lines. At this point I have no idea what I’ll use this piece for so Stage 4 may be to create it into a bag or cushion if I decide on that.

Leave a Reply

