Fabric Leftovers

A few years ago I picked up a great little craft book Fabric Leftovers by D’Arcy-Jean Milne.

Fabric Leftovers

The whole book is about using the scraps whether they be fabric, beads, threads, wire, recycled clothing. The book demonstrates a number of techniques that can be used with the scraps some of which I’ve never heard of before such as Rug Canvas Fabric and Sweet Beads. It discusses the “Fabric Food Chain” which is sorting your scraps from the largest to smallest and what types of projects you can do with the scraps in the different stages/sizes. Once you learn the different techniques it shows you practical projects you can make from bags to fabric bowls to jewellery to photo frames.

So far I’ve only made one project from this book and that was the fabric beads on T-Rex Even though until this point I hadn’t made much from the book I found myself going back to read it every few months. From the moment I read about Rug Canvas Fabric I wanted to try it and have been setting aside fabric strips for it. Here’s a sneaky peak at an item I’m working on at the moment.

Rug Canvas Fabric

If you can ever get your hands on a copy of this book I really do urge you to have a read. In Australia its hard to get online but I noticed Lincraft stores have it amongst their $7.99 books which is where I picked up mine. This book is full of wonderful ideas and tips on what to do with the scraps. As I’ve mentioned before I have a lot of fabric scraps and yes I did declutter the stash last month but I still have a lot of useful scraps. This book shows me another different way to use them. Craft supplies aren’t the cheapest things in the world so we might as well get the most out of them.

2 thoughts on “Fabric Leftovers

Leave a Reply

