Purple Pillow

A friend of mine asked me to make her a pillow after she got a new lounge. She sent me a picture of the fabric but didn’t give any real specifications as to what she wanted but she wanted it to be hers. I was given full creative licence and accepted the challenge.

Chair

My mind started ticking the moment she asked me. I sent her a heap of texts asking questions about things. She couldn’t believe how fast my creative brain works but I really did have ideas flying through. She’s a purple person so I knew the pillow needed to be in shades of purple. Seeing the fabric with the yellow letters I instantly thought to put the yellow lettering on the cushion. I decided to have her name on the pillow without it being obvious that her name is on it. This is what I came up with.

Purple Pillow

Its just a simple patchwork pillow with the letters appliqued randomly on. In my fabric stash I found a stack of purple offcuts so I went through them choosing pieces that were more greyish purple rather then pinkish purple. I didn’t want anything too girly (not her style) I was trying to get a good balance of prints that would also mix together.

This pillow was really a new challenge to me. I’d never sewn in a zipper before making this pillow so I found this tutorial and found it really easy to follow (modern day sewing is made easy with tablet pc’s sitting on the ironing board and next to the sewing machine) To cut the letters out I used my new ScanNCut machine I got for Christmas. To be honest I did have to have a little play on this machine before I attempted the letters. I didn’t let it overwhelm me I just gave it all ago.

I’m so excited with this pillow. Its the exact way I designed it in my mind. Its actually given me the confidence to do a few pillows as birthday gifts later in the year.

2 thoughts on “Purple Pillow

Leave a Reply

