Routine Clean

Due to life getting in the way I haven’t had a chance to get on my sewing machine the last couple of weeks.

I thought it was about time I gave it a clean (hangs head in shame not being able to remember the last time I did it) I unscrewed the throat plate removed the bobbin holder and gave the hold thing a good dusting. I also changed the needle.

Clean Machine

I was given the tip never to actually blow the dust away as you may end up blowing moisture into the machine but instead use an artists soft paintbrush. I have 2 brushes by my machine. The first I use to clean inside the bobbin area where it gets a bit of oil on it. The second I use to clean the need threading path where dust builds up but you generally don’t get any oil.

I only got about an hours worth of sewing done but it was enough to give me my craft fix. I was stitching up a softie for xmas. At the moment I have 2 half finished softies and some embroidery work which I need to finish sooner rather than later.

One thought on “Routine Clean

  1. Good reminder. I always have all this wooly dust in my bobbin area since I sew with sweaters a lot. Paintbrush! What a brilliant idea. Must try it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

