Toy Tea Bags

I thought the tea sets I make need a little something extra to go with them.

??????????

I’ve seen this idea on Pinterest and other sites and thought what a really simple item to make up using scraps.

To make one you will need

white fabric cut 1.5″ x 4″ (polar fleece, cotton, felt)
coloured fabric for top cut 1″ x 0.75″ (felt is easy to work with)
ric rac 2.5″ (or ribbon)

Fold the white fabric in half so that it is 2″ tall

Tea Bag Start
Place your ric rac between the layers at the top of the tea bag

Machine stitch around all 3 sides of the tea bag. Back stitch over the ric rac to ensure that it is stitched in

Tea Bag Stitch

Fold your tea bag top in half and place over the end of the ric rac. Hand stitch around all 3 sides again back stitching over the ric rac to ensure its secure.

Now you have a tea bag.

Tea Cup

I’ve seen these made where people have stuffed the inside with fibre fill or rice. I’ve also seen people stitch the 2 long sides of the tea bag like a toy and turn them inside out to hide the seems before sewing the top. These are great ideas but not really me. I like it plain and simple. These could easily be all hand stitched if you wanted a simple tv stitching project.

10 thoughts on “Toy Tea Bags

  1. LOVE everything teabag! These are adorable. My kids and stepkids are too big for a tea party (they think) so I’ll just have to have one of my own with the perfectly preserved ceramic Santa hubby unearthed in the backyard woodpile.

  2. oh my gosh, those are the cutest things I have ever seen and a perfect project for my daughters! TFS!

    • Your welcome. These would be a great project for kids to make as they are so simple and can be made in no time at all.

      I’m also thinking older children who may think they are “too old” to play with tea sets could make these for younger siblings or relatives.

Leave a Reply

