Snug As A Blanket

Another Christmas present complete. This is probably the most difficult Christmas gift I’m making this year. Certainly the one that has the most detail.

In A Stitch or Two I showed a photo of the half completed Baby Bug stitchery by Melly and Me. As you can see I finished it and decided to put it in the centre of a blanket.

Centre

I planned it out in my mind it would be a flannelette top and binding with a polar fleece backing. I brought all the fabric hand stitched the stitchery into place on the top fabric and decided it just didn’t look right. It was a tiny circle on a big pink sheet. It needed more.

Top Bugs

The Baby Bug kit also came with a rattle which I made Snug As A Baby Using the colour chart that came in the kit I traced the bug 6 times and back stitched each bug using random colours. I loved how it turned out. It really looks like a cute blanket now and not just something thrown together.

Bottom Bugs

After sewing the sewing the blanket top and backing together I decided to make continuous bias binding. I made it once a couple years ago with my mum but she did all the calculating and measuring I just did all the cutting and stitching. That was for a similar size blanket (the blanket in my photo) but we made it in 2 lengths. I decided this time I would make the entire blanket in one length. Not a good idea. I googled to see what length I would need and saw I would need a 32 inch square (I think I got it wrong) The square was huge. When I stitched the 2 halves together to form the parallelogram it was longer than any ruler I had. I don’t know if my lines were fully straight when I marked them up and cut them. In the end it all worked out and I had ample to machine sew around the edge of the back before hand stitching it to the front. I have lots of binding left over to use in other projects now. I spent many hours in front of the tv stitching this blanket. It was well worth it in the end. I’m sure the little girl who gets this will love it.

Finished Blanket

Leave a Reply

