A Stitch or Two

To be honest I’ve never really been into Stitcheries. As a kid I did a couple of printed cross stitches which were fun but the idea of having to count tiny squares or transfer complicated patterns onto fabric never appealed to me I’m too lazy. Also no designs have ever screamed out “Stitch Me”  Over the years I’ve written words in chalk pencil and hand embroidered over it on different projects such as bookmarks, cloth books and christmas decorations. But never really took to stitcheries until now….

At Urban Stitches I got a taste for stitcheries and I now currently have 2 on the go. Both are pre-printed onto the fabric so I don’t have to think I can just relax and stitch. I also have a wish list for future ones to purchase.

The first is Baby Bug by Melly and Me

Snug As A But

As you can see I’m about half way through it. It comes as a kit that you can make up to place in a photoframe of your choosing. I’m not sure once its done if I’ll place it in a frame or maybe make it as part of a blanket of something. You can’t see it but there is also a printed outline of a beetle that can be made up into a rattle for a baby. I haven’t worked on this one in a few weeks so I’m itching to get back to it.

The second is Angels Watching by Rosalie Quinlan

Angels Watching

Again I’m about half way through it. Once finished this one will put in a frame and sit above my sewing area. What I love most about this one is cause its the one colour I don’t have to think. Even if I only just have a mintue I can pick this one up and do a few stitches. I try and do a couple of minutes on it each day.

With both pieces I know some of my stitches haven’t been perfect but only I’m going to notice the imperfections. I’m still learning and its about having fun doing them which I do. I find them relaxing. Give me tv and my stittchery and I’m a happy Hop.

2 thoughts on “A Stitch or Two

Leave a Reply

