My Stash

I have a number of craft stashes.

Fabric Stash As with all sewing people I have a large fabric stash that never seems to get a dent in it. I got all mum’s fabric which also included fabric I’d brought over the years. I’ve since added a lot more to it. When I want to make a project I go shopping in my fabric stash first.

Scrap Stash It started as nothing and now consists of at least 2 small tubs. I’ve tried to sort it into plastic zip lock bags such as fleece, felt, strips, squares, pelon, vilesofix, selvages. Then theres just a heap of odd shapes that are big enough to use in something some day. I try and use items from my scrap stash first without having to cut up a new larger piece from my fabric stash. I like making Scrashies which are just items made up my scrap stash (toys, bookmarks, beads) My scrap stash tubs sit on the end of my craft table and I have a habit of just dumping bits in there so every so often I go through and soft them out.

Thread Stash Mum had boxes and boxes of sewing reels and embroidery thread cards and I now have all of them. I can usually find a colour I’m needing amongst it. I’ve only added a handful of threads to it. With the embroidery thread she’d written out the brand and colour on each pieced of cardboard so when it comes to replacing that colour I know exactly what I need to buy.

Button Stash I’m having to keep upsizing what I store my buttons in cause the stash keeps growing. I’m using them a lot more now to embellish items particularly as some of the kids I make stuff for now are older and over that stick everything in their mouth stage.

Clothing Stash As mentioned in I have mum’s pj’s which I’m using in projects. I’ve hand picked them all and bundled the fabric up into plastic zip bags so the fabric is ready to use.

Yarn Stash I have more yarn than I really need. I have all these projects in my head that I want to make. It sort of in 3 categories Wool, Acrylic and Cotton. I in theory don’t need to buy yarn for a very long time but that probably won’t stop me.

Self Covered Button / Hair clip Stash This is my latest stash. I love making self covered buttons and hair clips. I want to make them using a lot of my scrap stash where possible.

Ribbon Stash Again I got alot of ribbons from mum but have also brought a heap of my own. I mostly use ribbons in when making taggies but I do want to start using them more just to embellish items. I’d love to crochet with ribbon at some point cause I think thats something that would look different.

Magazines / Books Stash I have a slight addiction to craft mags and books. As much as I love the internet for sewing ideas and tutorials give me a magazine or book that I can hold in my hand any day. Even though I may never make anything thats in the book I still love to look at the pictures, think of ideas and dream of the possiblities.

So thats my stashes that come to mind but I’m sure I have more that I don’t even realise.

Leave a Reply

